Loading Events

The South Shore Symphony PresentsAmerican Composers of Our Time

April 4      7:30 pm

PDQ Bach – Concerto for Simply Grand Piano
Jeffrey Biegel – Piano Soloist
Still – Symphony N. 1 (Afro-American Symphony)
Lowell Liebermann – Concerto for Orchestra

Biegel spearheaded the commissioning of renowned P.D.Q. Bach scholar Peter Schickele’s recently “discovered” “Concerto for Simply Grand Piano” in 2015 with the involvement of over a dozen co-commissioning orchestras, including the South Shore Symphony. “It’s cheeky, and intended to be that way. If you hear something that makes you laugh, the composer wanted it that way – both of em!” Schickele’s P.D.Q. Bach conceit allows him to compose – or perhaps I should say decompose – new old music in a way which is both authentic and satirical.